How to Start a Michigan LLC

Michigan LLC Formation – Basics & Helpful Information

This article is meant to be a general overview of the Michigan LLC formation process; including information about how to start a Michigan LLC and other basic issues related to Michigan LLCs.

Michigan LLC Filing Fees

The initial fee to register a Michigan LLC is $50.00, plus an additional $50.00 for 24-hour processing, or an additional $100.00 for same day processing. Two-hour processing of the Articles of Organization is available for $500 if the document is received before 3pm, and for an additional $1,000.00, one-hour processing is available if the document is received before 4pm.

Michigan Filing Time

Regular processing of documents generally takes 3-5 days after the Articles of Organization are received. For additional fees, you may request expedited processing for either 24-hr ($50), same day ($100), two-hour ($500), or one-hour ($1000) service.

Michigan Annual Compliance Requirements

Michigan LLCs are required to file annual statements no later than February 15th of each year after the LLC is organized. However, if the LLC was organized after September 30th, the LLC does not need to file an annual statement in the next year. The fee to file the annual statement is $25.00 with a penalty of $50.00 if the statement is not received by February 15th. The resident agent of the LLC will receive the pre-printed annual statement about 90 days before it is due. The statement is required by Michigan law in order for the LLC to remain in good standing with the state. You can now file the annual statement online.

Form an LLC in Michigan

You can use this checklist to help guide you through the process of forming a Michigan LLC:

Step 1: Decide on a Business Name

Step 2: Register your LLC with the State

Step 3: Create and Sign the LLC's Governing Document

Step 4: Get an EIN

Step 5: Get Licenses and Permits

Registering a Foreign LLC in Michigan